skip to main content

Notes and Coins - Bank Notes

Banknotes and Coins

The Aruban Florin

When Aruba obtained its Status Aparte within the Kingdom of the Netherlands in 1986, the florin, which was pegged to the U.S. dollar, became the official currency of the island. Pursuant to the Central Bank Ordinance, the Centrale Bank van Aruba was entrusted with the responsibility for the issuance of the florin bank notes. During the period 1986 to 1989, transitorial bank notes were issued by the Bank. In 1990 and 1993, new sets of florin bank notes were issued, which were designed by Mr. Evelino Fingal and printed at "Joh. Enschedé en Zonen" in the Netherlands. Furthermore, the Bank issues coins on behalf of the government. The coins are also designed by Mr. Fingal and minted by the "Nederlandse Munt N.V.". The copyright on Aruban banknotes is owned by the Centrale Bank van Aruba.

New safety features have been added to the new 2003 series of banknotes. A brochure explaining the features is available.

The 2003-bank notes series

The Design

When designing these bank notes, it was of primary importance to the designer to use elements which are fundamentally Aruban. Therefore, images of the Aruban animal wild life were combined with decorative motives found on pre-columbian pottery, thus emphasizing the relation between past and present. On these bank notes the following animals are depicted:

10 florin 10 florin Melongena Melongena (conch)
25 florin 25 florin Crotalus Durissus Unicolor (rattle snake)
50 florin 50 florin Speotyto Cunicularia Arubensis (owl)
100 florin wA100kz.jpg Pleurodema Brachyops (frog)
500 florin 500 florin Epinephelus Morio (grouper)

The tactile mark

A raised identification code for the visually handicapped is incorporated on the front of each banknote, bottom left in the white area.

tactice mark 10 florin 10 Florin
tactile mark 25 florin 25 Florin
tactile mark 50 florin 50 Florin
tactile mark 100 florin 100 Florin
tactile mark 500 florin 500 Florin


During the years the CBA issued several new series banknotes which are as follows;1986, 1990, 1993, 2003 and 2008

The denominations with series 1990 and 1993 are available at the CBA;
5 florin banknote (sold out)
10 " " (sold out)
25 " " (only series 1990, 1993)
50 " " (only series 1990, 1993)
100 " " (only series 1993)
500 " " (only series 1993)

For questions regarding these banknotes, please contact the Cash and Vault Department at telephone no. (297) 525-2141 or (297) 525-2139 or e-mail:


Since 1986, the CBA issues on a yearly basis a set of circulation coins. Each coin set provide a small flavor of the culture, fauna, flora and historical buildings of Aruba.

Year Description
2001 Historic buildings
2002 Sea activities
2003 Experience Aruba
2004 50 years Carnival
2005 Aruba, Oraoubao, "Island of Shells"
2006 Pre-historic Rock Art of Aruba
2007 Oranjestad
2008 Native trees
2009 Every listed building has a story to tell
2010 Birds in Aruba
2011 Reptiles of Aruba
2012 Fishing in Aruba
2013 Flowers in Aruba

*The coin sets from 1986 till 2000 and the year 2004 are sold out.

Latest issued coinsets

2012 Fishing in Aruba 2011 Reptiles of Aruba 2010 Birds in Aruba
Fishing Reptiles Birds

For questions regarding these banknotes and coins, please contact the Cash and Vault Department at telephone no. (297) 525-2141 or (297) 525-2139 or e-mail: .